clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL releases finalists for annual Associated Press awards — including MVP

We now know have short lists for the annual Associated Press awards.

11th Annual NFL Honors Photo by Michael Owens/Getty Images

We can now be certain that none of the Kansas City Chiefs’ players or coaches will be on stage for a major award during the “NFL Honors” telecast, which will take place in two weeks.

In recent years, that has often been because those players and coaches have been... uh... busy preparing for the Super Bowl, which always takes place three days later. But this time, it will be because none of them are among the finalists for the annual awards given by the Associated Press.

But take heart. It is still possible that the Chiefs — who face the Ravens in the AFC Championship this Sunday afternoon — will be preparing for Super Bowl LVIII anyway.

The “NFL Honors” show will be carried live from Las Vegas on CBS, NFL Network and Paramount+ at 7 p.m. Arrowhead Time on Thursday, February 8.

The NFL has released the finalists in all eight categories.

AP Most Valuable Player


Whom would you pick for MVP?

This poll is closed

  • 4%
    Josh Allen
    (67 votes)
  • 48%
    Lamar Jackson
    (711 votes)
  • 40%
    Christian McCaffrey
    (593 votes)
  • 1%
    Dak Prescott
    (21 votes)
  • 4%
    Brock Purdy
    (69 votes)
1461 votes total Vote Now

AP Defensive Player of the Year


Whom would you pick for DPOY?

This poll is closed

  • 5%
    DaRon Bland
    (72 votes)
  • 18%
    Maxx Crosby
    (234 votes)
  • 30%
    Myles Garrett
    (383 votes)
  • 8%
    Micah Parsons
    (109 votes)
  • 37%
    T.J. Watt
    (475 votes)
1273 votes total Vote Now

AP Offensive Player of the Year

  • Tyreek Hill, Miami Dolphins wide receiver
  • Lamar Jackson, Ravens quarterback
  • CeeDee Lamb, Cowboys wide receiver
  • Christian McCaffrey, 49ers running back
  • Dak Prescott, Cowboys quarterback


Whom would you pick for OPOY?

This poll is closed

  • 47%
    Tyreek Hill
    (645 votes)
  • 5%
    Lamar Jackson
    (81 votes)
  • 2%
    CeeDee Lamb
    (38 votes)
  • 43%
    Christian McCaffrey
    (588 votes)
  • 0%
    Dak Prescott
    (4 votes)
1356 votes total Vote Now

AP Offensive Rookie of the Year


Whom would you pick for OROY?

This poll is closed

  • 1%
    Jahmyr Gibbs
    (25 votes)
  • 3%
    Sam LaPorta
    (41 votes)
  • 39%
    Puka Nacua
    (540 votes)
  • 0%
    Bijan Robinson
    (3 votes)
  • 54%
    C.J. Stroud
    (743 votes)
1352 votes total Vote Now

AP Defensive Rookie of the Year

  • Will Anderson, Texans defensive end
  • Jalen Carter, Philadelphia Eagles defensive tackle
  • Joey Porter Jr., Steelers cornerback
  • Kobie Turner, Rams defensive tackle
  • Devon Witherspoon, Seattle Seahawks cornerback


Whom would you pick for DROY?

This poll is closed

  • 44%
    Will Anderson
    (481 votes)
  • 22%
    Jalen Carter
    (248 votes)
  • 19%
    Joey Porter Jr.
    (215 votes)
  • 3%
    Kobie Turner
    (38 votes)
  • 10%
    Devon Witherspoon
    (110 votes)
1092 votes total Vote Now

AP Comeback Player of the Year

  • Joe Flacco, Browns quarterback
  • Damar Hamlin, Bills safety
  • Baker Mayfield, Tampa Bay Buccaneers quarterback
  • Matthew Stafford, Rams quarterback
  • Tua Tagovailoa, Dolphins quarterback


Whom would you pick for CPOY?

This poll is closed

  • 27%
    Joe Flacco
    (370 votes)
  • 13%
    Damar Hamlin
    (179 votes)
  • 51%
    Baker Mayfield
    (676 votes)
  • 3%
    Matthew Stafford
    (48 votes)
  • 3%
    Tua Tagovailoa
    (50 votes)
1323 votes total Vote Now

AP Coach of the Year

  • Dan Campbell, Lions
  • John Harbaugh, Ravens
  • DeMeco Ryans, Texans
  • Kyle Shanahan, 49ers
  • Kevin Stefanski, Browns


Whom would you pick for COY?

This poll is closed

  • 51%
    Dan Campbell
    (658 votes)
  • 3%
    John Harbaugh
    (46 votes)
  • 37%
    DeMeco Ryans
    (483 votes)
  • 0%
    Kyle Shanahan
    (12 votes)
  • 6%
    Kevin Stefanski
    (80 votes)
1279 votes total Vote Now

AP Assistant Coach of the Year

  • Ben Johnson, Lions offensive coordinator
  • Mike Macdonald, Ravens defensive coordinator
  • Todd Monken, Ravens offensive coordinator
  • Jim Schwartz, Browns defensive coordinator
  • Bobby Slowik, Texans offensive coordinator


Whom would you pick for ACOY?

This poll is closed

  • 28%
    Ben Johnson
    (292 votes)
  • 19%
    Mike Macdonald
    (195 votes)
  • 15%
    Todd Monken
    (159 votes)
  • 12%
    Jim Schwartz
    (129 votes)
  • 24%
    Bobby Slowik
    (251 votes)
1026 votes total Vote Now

It's Game Time.

It's time for a title defense in Chiefs Kingdom. Sign up for Arrowhead Pride Premier and we’ll deliver 3 newsletters leading up to the Super Bowl packed with exclusive coverage and analysis from Las Vegas you won’t find anywhere else. For a limited time, use the code SUPERBOWL30 to save 30% plus a free trial