clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chiefs announce 2020 team MVP, rookie of the year

The team votes on the award-winners once the season has concluded.

New York Jets v Kansas City Chiefs Photo by Jamie Squire/Getty Images

The Kansas City Chiefs have announced their Derrick Thomas and Mack Lee Hill award-winners for the 2020 NFL season. The Chiefs finished 14-2 during the 2020 regular season, clinching the lone first-round bye in the AFC. The team went on to win their second straight AFC title before losing in the Super Bowl.

The awards are voted upon by the team once the season has concluded:

Derrick Thomas Award (most valuable player)

Tight end Travis Kelce was named the Chiefs’ Derrick Thomas award recipient for most valuable player in 2020, as he put together the most productive season of his eight-year career.

Kelce compiled 105 catches for 1,416 yards, finishing second in the league, only behind Buffalo Bills wide receiver Stefon Diggs. That mark is the best single-season yardage output for a tight end in NFL history. Kelce also had a career-high 11 receiving touchdowns on the season.

In three playoff games, Kelce had 31 catches for 360 yards and three touchdowns.

Mack Lee Hill Award (rookie of the year)

2020’s No. 32-overall pick, running back Clyde Edwards-Helaire, took home the Chiefs’ Mack Lee Hill award for top rookie.

In 13 games, Edwards-Helaire rushed 181 times for 803 yards and four touchdowns. He added 36 receptions for 297 yards and a touchdown through the air. A Week 15 injury ended his season early, but he would return for two postseason games, in which he compiled 94 scrimmage yards and a touchdown.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Arrowhead Pride Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Kansas City Chiefs news from Arrowhead Pride