clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kelce, Mathieu make PFWA All-NFL team; two Chiefs on All-Rookie team

Three more Chiefs were chosen for the All-AFC team.

NFL: DEC 27 Falcons at Chiefs Photo by William Purnell/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The Kansas City Chiefs have placed two players — tight end Travis Kelce and safety Tyrann Mathieu — on the 2020 All-NFL team selected by the Pro Football Writers of America. It is the third time Kelce has received the honor. Mathieu has now been selected twice.

Cornerback L’Jarius Sneed and punter Tommy Townsend have been selected to the PFWA’s All-Rookie team.

In addition, quarterback Patrick Mahomes, wide receiver Tyreek Hill and defensive tackle Chris Jones were named to the PFWA All-AFC team.

This season, Kelce led all NFL tight ends in receiving yardage with 1,416, which was also a new NFL single-season record for a tight end. Among all receivers, he was second only to Buffalo Bills wide receiver Stephon Diggs, who had 1,535 yards. He finished in the top-5 in receiving yardage for the second consecutive season — the first time a tight end has ever done so — while also beoming the first tight end to record five 1,000-yard seasons.

Kelce was one of only two unanimous selections to the Associated Press All-Pro team. He was also named to his sixth Pro Bowl.

Mathieu finished the season with six interceptions — leading all NFL safeties — to go along with 62 tackles (48 solo and three for loss) and nine passes defensed. He returned one of his interceptions for a touchdown. One of the team’s most versatile and available players, he was used all over the field, playing 100% of Kansas City’s defensive snaps in 12 of the 15 games in which he appeared.

Mathieu was also a first-team AP All-Pro selection — and was selected the Pro Bowl for the second time in his career.

Sneed was chosen out of Louisiana Tech in the fourth round of the NFL Draft last spring. At the beginning of the season, he was unexpectedly placed in the starting lineup as an outside corner before missing six games with a broken collarbone. Returning as the team’s slot cornerback, he finished the season with three interceptions along with 41 tackles (31 solo and two for loss) and seven passes defensed.

Joining the Chiefs as an undrafted free agent out of Florida, Townsend averaged 45.0 yards (and 4.46 seconds of hang time) on 52 punts. His longest was for 67 yards. Half of his punts pinned opponents inside the 20-yard line.

PFWA All-NFL team



Special Teams

  • PK – Justin Tucker, Baltimore Ravens
  • P – Jake Bailey, New England Patriots
  • KR – Cordarrelle Patterson, Chicago Bears
  • PR – Gunner Olszewski, New England Patriots
  • ST – George Odum, Indianapolis Colts

PFWA All-Rookie team



  • DL – Derrick Brown, Carolina Panthers; Raekwon Davis, Miami Dolphins; Javon Kinlaw, San Francisco 49ers; Chase Young, Washington Football Team
  • LB – Kenneth Murray Jr., Los Angeles Chargers; Patrick Queen, Baltimore Ravens; Isaiah Simmons, Arizona Cardinals
  • CB – Cameron Dantzler, Minnesota Vikings; L’Jarius Sneed, Kansas City Chiefs
  • S – Jeremy Chinn, Carolina Panthers; Antoine Winfield Jr., Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Special Teams

  • PK – Rodrigo Blankenship, Indianapolis Colts
  • P – Tommy Townsend, Kansas City Chiefs
  • KR – Isaiah Rodgers, Indianapolis Colts
  • PR – James Proche II, Baltimore Ravens
  • ST – Jordan Glasgow, Indianapolis Colts

PFWA All-AFC team


  • QB – Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City Chiefs
  • RB – Nick Chubb Cleveland Browns; Derrick Henry, Tennessee Titans
  • WR – Stefon Diggs, Buffalo Bills; Tyreek Hill, Kansas City Chiefs
  • TE – Travis Kelce, Kansas City Chiefs
  • C – Ryan Kelly, Indianapolis Colts
  • G – Joel Bitonio, Cleveland Browns; Quenton Nelson, Indianapolis Colts
  • T – Garrett Bolles, Denver Broncos; Jack Conklin, Cleveland Browns


  • DE – Joey Bosa, Los Angeles Chargers; Myles Garrett, Cleveland Browns
  • DT – DeForest Buckner, Indianapolis Colts; Chris Jones, Kansas City Chiefs
  • OLB – Bradley Chubb, Denver Broncos; T.J. Watt, Pittsburgh Steelers
  • MLB – Darius Leonard, Indianapolis Colts
  • CB – Xavien Howard, Miami Dolphins; Tre’Davious White, Buffalo Bills
  • S – Minkah Fitzpatrick, Pittsburgh Steelers; Tyrann Mathieu, Kansas City Chiefs

Special Teams

  • PK – Justin Tucker, Baltimore Ravens
  • P – Jake Bailey, New England Patriots
  • KR – Andre Roberts, Buffalo Bills
  • PR – Gunner Olszewski, New England Patriots
  • ST – George Odum, Indianapolis Colts