clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Former Chiefs Gonzalez, Robinson and Law enter Hall of Fame Saturday

Three former Chiefs — two of whom helped define the team during their careers — will be enshrined in the pro Football Hall of Fame Saturday night

NFL: FEB 02 2019 Hall of Fame Class
The 2019 NFL Hall of Fame class: Johnny Robinson, Ed Reed, Kevin Mawae, Ty Law, Tony Gonzalez, Gil Brandt, Annabel Bowlen (for Pat Bowlen) and Champ Bailey.
Photo by Rich Graessle/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Today’s the day.

On Saturday evening, two former Kansas City Chiefs players who helped define the team during their careers — safety Johnny Robinson and tight end Tony Gonzalez — will be officially enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio.

Former Chiefs cornerback Ty Law will also be enshrined in the Hall Saturday night. Law spent 2006 and 2007 with the Chiefs before retiring after the 2009 season.

Both Robinson and Gonzalez are already members of the Chiefs Hall of Fame. Robinson was inducted in 1974 and Gonzalez was named just last year.

A member of the team’s original Dallas Texans roster, Robinson spent his entire career with the Chiefs organization before retiring after the 1971 season. Gonzalez played for the Chiefs from 1997 to 2008 before finishing his career with the Atlanta Falcons. 2013 was his final season in the NFL.

Gonzalez is the Chiefs franchise’s receiving leader with 10,940 career yards and is a first-ballot Hall of Famer, while it took Robinson 39 years and a senior candidacy to achieve the league’s highest honor.

While the Chiefs never even won a playoff game during Gonzalez’ time with the team, he finished his career with 15,127 yards — more than any other tight end in NFL history. He is widely regarded as completely redefining the role of tight ends in the modern NFL.

Robinson helped the Chiefs to their only two Super Bowls in 1966 and 1969 — and was a major part of the Chiefs’ only Super Bowl-winning team in 1969. The franchise won three AFL championships with Robinson in 1962, 1966 and 1969.

Gonzalez will be introduced by his cousin Dennis Allen. Robinson will be introduced by his stepson Bob Thompson. Law’s introduction will be handled by his friend Byron Washington.

Champ Bailey, Pat Bowlen, Gil Brandt, Kevin Mawae and Ed Reed will also be inducted into the Hall of Fame with this year’s class.

The 2019 Pro Football Hall of Fame enshrinement ceremony will take place tonight — Saturday, August 3 — at 6:00 p.m. Arrowhead Time. It will be carried live on NFL Network.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Arrowhead Pride Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Kansas City Chiefs news from Arrowhead Pride