clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chiefs schedule 2019: Dates, game times, opponents, and more

New, comments

It’s finally here! Let’s talk about the Chiefs’ 2019 schedule.

Divisional Round - Kansas City Chiefs v New England Patriots Photo by Al Bello/Getty Images

The Kansas City Chiefs’ 2019 NFL schedule has officially been released.

The biggest game is probably Week 14: Patrick Mahomes will get his third opportunity to beat quarterback Tom Brady and the Super Bowl champion New England Patriots in Week 14. Many thought that the Chiefs might once again get banner night against the Patriots on Sunday Night Football, but that game goes to the Pittsburgh Steelers. Mahomes-Brady III late in the season could have serious playoff implications, and though your first inclination might be that it will undoubtedly be flexed, CBS and FOX own the right to protect five games apiece between Weeks 11 and 16. CBS will keep that game at its 3:25 p.m. Arrowhead Time start time.

Here is the schedule...

2019 Chiefs schedule

DATE OPPONENT TIME NETWORK
DATE OPPONENT TIME NETWORK
Sunday, Sept. 8 at Jacksonville Jaguars Noon CBS
Sunday, Sept. 15 at Oakland Raiders 3:05 p.m. CBS
Sunday, Sept. 22 Baltimore Ravens Noon CBS
Sunday, Sept. 29 at Detroit Lions Noon FOX
Sunday, Oct. 6 Indianapolis Colts* 7:20 p.m. NBC
Sunday, Oct. 13 Houston Texans* Noon CBS
Thursday, Oct. 17 at Denver Broncos 7:20 p.m. FOX/NFLN/AMAZON
Sunday, Oct. 27 Green Bay Packers* 7:20 p.m. NBC
Sunday, Nov. 3 Minnesota Vikings* Noon FOX
Sunday, Nov. 10 at Tennessee Titans* Noon CBS
Monday, Nov. 18 at Los Angeles Chargers (Mexico City) 7:15 p.m. ESPN
Sunday, Nov. 24 BYE WEEK -- --
Sunday, Dec. 1 Oakland Raiders* Noon CBS
Sunday, Dec. 8 at New England Patriots* 3:25 p.m. CBS
Sunday, Dec. 15 Denver Broncos* Noon CBS
Sunday, Dec. 22 at Chicago Bears* 7:20 p.m. NBC
Sunday, Dec. 29 Los Angeles Chargers* Noon CBS

Rapid analysis

To no one’s surprise, the Chiefs have the maximum of five scheduled primetime games: Week 5 (Colts), Week 7 (Broncos), Week 8 (Packers), Week 11 (Chargers) and Week 16 (Bears). They will have an opportunity to get one more primetime game before the end of the season via flex. Given the MVP of the league is now the quarterback of the Chiefs, it’s a little surprising they start the season on the road in Jacksonville. The home opener won’t happen until Week 3, due in part to the Royals being home on the Week 2 Sunday. The stretch after the bye week is a tough slate of games—Raiders, Patriots, Broncos, Bears and Chargers.

Podcast

Here is the preseason schedule...

Chiefs 2019 preseason schedule

DATE OPPONENT TIME NETWORK
DATE OPPONENT TIME NETWORK
Saturday, Aug. 10 Cincinnati Bengals 7:00 PM KCTV5
Saturday, Aug. 17 at Pittsburgh Steelers 6:30 PM KCTV5
Saturday, Aug. 24 San Francisco 49ers 7:00 PM KCTV5
Thursday, Aug. 29 at Green Bay Packers 7:00 PM KCTV5

Chiefs 2019 strength of schedule

The Chiefs play the fifth-toughest schedule in the league in 2019, according to CBS Sports (full rankings based upon 2018 win percentage).

Chiefs 2019 opponents

Home: Denver Broncos (6-10), Los Angeles Chargers (12-4), Oakland Raiders (4-12), Baltimore Ravens (10-6), Green Bay Packers (6-9-1), Houston Texans (11-5), Indianapolis Colts (10-6), Minnesota Vikings (8-7-1)

Away: Denver Broncos (6-10), Los Angeles Chargers (12-4), Oakland Raiders (4-12), Chicago Bears (12-4), Detroit Lions (6-10), Jacksonville Jaguars (5-11), New England Patriots (11-5), Tennessee Titans (9-7)