clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Patrick Mahomes named AP NFL Most Valuable Player

Mahomes is the first Chief in franchise history to win AP NFL MVP.

NFL: NFL Honors-Red Carpet Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports

It has happened; it is official.

Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes has been named the NFL’s Most Valuable Player and its offensive player of the year, as voted upon by the Associated Press and announced at the NFL Honors ceremony Saturday evening in Atlanta, Georgia.

The NFL Honors show airs (taped) Saturday night on CBS at 8 p.m. Arrowhead Time.

Mahomes, 23, received 41 of a possible 50 votes from the Associated Press to win the league’s Most Valuable Player Award. New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees received the other nine. Mahomes is the youngest player to ever win the MVP award in the Super Bowl era.

We will have to wait until the telecast to hear Mahomes’ speech, but here is what he tweeted after the announcement:

Earlier Saturday afternoon, Mahomes became the second player in franchise history to win the league’s offensive player of the year award.

Running back Priest Holmes was the only other Chiefs player to win the award back in 2002.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Arrowhead Pride Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Kansas City Chiefs news from Arrowhead Pride