clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Patrick Mahomes and Andrew Wylie named Chiefs MVP and rookie of the year

The second-year quarterback and the rookie right guard get the nod from Chiefs players and coaches for their 2018 seasons

Oakland Raiders v Kansas City Chiefs Photo by Peter Aiken/Getty Images

The Kansas City Chiefs have announced their in-house player awards for the 2018 season. Quarterback Patrick Mahomes has won the Derrick Thomas Most Valuable Player award, and offensive lineman Andrew Wylie has won the Mack Lee Hill award, given annually to the best rookie on the team.

Chiefs players and coaches vote on these awards.

Mahomes, of course, was an obvious choice. In only his first season as a starter, in 2018 he became only the second quarterback in the NFL — and the youngest ever — to pass for 5,000 yards and 50 touchdowns in a season. That was just the beginning.

He also threw 31 touchdown passes in road games — surpassing an NFL record of 29 set by Tom Brady in 2007. He now holds the Chiefs single-season records for pass completions. touchdowns, and yards. He had 13 games where his passer rating was 100 or above in 2018 — also a franchise record. His season passer rating of 113.8 was the seventh-best in NFL history among starting quarterbacks, and he also became the youngest quarterback in NFL history to have a season passer rating above 110.

Wylie, 24, was signed by the Indianapolis Colts as an undrafted free agent after the 2017 NFL Draft. On and off the Colts roster and practice squad through training camp, he was cut for good in late September, and was then added to the Cleveland Browns practice squad. Cut again in December, he went to the Los Angeles Chargers practice squad, remaining through the end of the season. Last January, the Chiefs signed Wylie to a reserves/future contract, and he made the final 53-man roster in September. Our comment on Wylie making the team didn’t see what was coming.

The Chiefs kept nine offensive linemen, and they must have felt like they needed to in order to protect long-term offensive line project Kahlil McKenzie. Putting McKenzie on the practice squad would have made him eligible to be signed by any other team. Andrew Wylie makes the team in the “Zach Fulton” honorary sixth-man position, with Witzmann and Devey providing more depth.

With one injury after another on the offensive line, Wylie suddenly became an essential part of the Chiefs offense, becoming a starter in Week 7, and eventually settling in at right guard while Laurent Duvernay-Tardif was on injured reserve. He allowed just two sacks and 22 pressures on the season.

All-Time Derrick Thomas MVPs

Year Player(s)
1979 Gary Barbaro
1980 Art Still
1981 Joe Delaney
1982 Gary Green
1983 Bill Kenney
1984 Art Still
1985 Lloyd Burruss
1986 Albert Lewis
1987 Carlos Carson
1988 Deron Cherry
1989 Christian Okoye
1990 Steve DeBerg
1991 Derrick Thomas
1992 Neil Smith
1993 Marcus Allen
1994 Derrick Thomas
1995 Marcus Allen
1996 Mark Collins
1997 Andre Rison
1998 Glenn Parker
1999 Marvcus Patton
2000 Derrick Alexander
2001 Priest Holmes
2002 Priest Holmes
2003 Trent Green
2004 Trent Green
2005 Larry Johnson
2006 Larry Johnson
2007 Jared Allen
2008 Tony Gonzalez
2009 Jamaal Charles
2010 Jamaal Charles
2011 Derrick Johnson
2012 Jamaal Charles
2013 Jamaal Charles
2014 Justin Houston
2015 Alex Smith & Eric Berry
2016 Eric Berry
2017 Alex Smith
2018 Patrick Mahomes

All-Time Mack Lee Hill Winners

Year Player(s)
1966 Mike Garrett
1967 Jan Stenerud
1968 Robert Holmes
1969 Jim Marsalis
1970 Jack Rudnay
1971 Elmo Wright
1972 Larry Marshall
1973 Gary Butler
1974 Woody Green
1975 Walter White
1976 Gary Barbaro
1977 Gary Green
1978 Don Parrish
1979 Bob Grupp
1980 Eric Harris
1981 Lloyd Burruss
1982 Les Studdard
1983 David Lutz
1984 Kevin Ross
1985 Jeff Smith
1986 Dino Hackett
1987 Christian Okoye
1988 James Saxon
1989 Derrick Thomas
1990 Percy Snow
1991 Tracy Simien
1992 Willie Davis
1993 Will Shields
1994 Lake Dawson
1995 Tamarick Vanover
1996 Reggie Tongue
1997 Tony Gonzalez
1998 Victor Riley
1999 Mike Maslowski
2000 Greg Wesley
2001 Eric Downing
2002 Scott Fujita
2003 Jimmy Wilkerson & Kawika Mitchell
2004 Jared Allen
2005 Derrick Johnson
2006 Tamba Hali
2007 Dwayne Bowe
2008 Maurice Leggett
2009 Ryan Succop
2010 Eric Berry
2011 Justin Houston
2012 Dontari Poe
2013 Marcus Cooper
2014 De'Anthony Thomas
2015 Marcus Peters
2016 Tyreek Hill
2017 Kareem Hunt
2018 Andrew Wylie

It's Game Time.

It's time for a title defense in Chiefs Kingdom. Sign up for Arrowhead Pride Premier and we’ll deliver 3 newsletters leading up to the Super Bowl packed with exclusive coverage and analysis from Las Vegas you won’t find anywhere else. For a limited time, use the code SUPERBOWL30 to save 30% plus a free trial