clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Patrick Mahomes named NFL 101 Awards AFC offensive player of the year

The Chiefs quarterback continues to pile up accolades for his 2018 season

NFL: Kansas City Chiefs at Denver Broncos Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes has been named the AFC offensive player of the year in the 49th annual NFL 101 Awards. The NFL 101 Awards is the nation’s oldest awards event dedicated exclusively to professional football.

“Patrick Mahomes made headlines throughout the season for his ability to make jaw-dropping plays,” the Kansas City Committee of 101 announced in a press release. “In just his first year as a starter, Mahomes became only the second quarterback in NFL history to notch 50 touchdown passes and 5,000 passing yards during the regular season, posting outstanding numbers such as a league-leading +38 touchdown/interception differential, 52 completions of 25-plus yards, 35 red-zone touchdown passes and a 113.8 passer rating. Guiding the Chiefs to a 12-4 regular season record and a spot in the AFC Championship Game, Mahomes was named the league’s MVP and Offensive Player of the Year by the PFWA, earned first-team All-Pro honors from the Associated Press and was named to his first Pro Bowl.”

The hope in Kansas City is that Mahomes goes on to win the AP NFL MVP Award, which is announced at the NFL Honors on February 2.

The other recipients of the 101 Awards are New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees (NFC offensive player of the year), Houston Texans defensive end JJ Watt (AFC defensive player of the year), Los Angeles Rams defensive end Aaron Donald (NFC defensive player of the year), Indianapolis Colts head coach Frank Reich (AFC coach of the year) and Chicago Bears head coach Matt Nagy (NFC coach of the year).

The NFL 101 Awards are presented at a black-tie event in Kansas City on March 9, 2019.

In addition to the six league-wide honors, the Chiefs will present their Mack Lee Hill Award (Chiefs rookie of the year) to Andrew Wylie and their Derrick Thomas Most Valuable Player Award to Mahomes at the event.

The Chiefs will also announce the 2019 Chiefs Hall of Fame inductee.

Thanksgiving deal: Save 20% on APP!

Use promo code GOCHIEFS20 to save 20% on your first year of Arrowhead Pride Premier. Sign up today for exclusive game analysis, subscriber-only videos, and much more on the Chiefs journey to back-to-back.