clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Will Chiefs be the next team to win their first MVP award?

I saw someone ask which eight teams have never had one of their players win the NFL MVP award and I realized the Kansas City Chiefs are one of those teams. Often times the MVP winner is winning playoff games and that hasn’t been the Chiefs strength lately so ... yeah, I believe it.

I saw the question on reddit where they were wondering which team will be the next to have an MVP winner. The quarterback is usually what wins these things and Alex Smith was never putting up the stats that win these awards so Patrick Mahomes is the Chiefs best shot at this since the Trent Green and Priest Holmes days.

Who will win the first to win an MVP from the list below? The Saints and Drew Brees are probably the most likely right now. I would put the Texans with Deshaun Watson and, yes, the Chiefs with Patrick Mahomes next (yeah, yeah, he has played one career game and I’m putting in the Hall of Fame).

Who will be the next to win one?

NEW: Join Arrowhead Pride Premier

If you love Arrowhead Pride, you won’t want to miss Pete Sweeney in your inbox each week as he delivers deep analysis and insights on the Chiefs' path to the Super Bowl.