clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chiefs nominate punter Dustin Colquitt for Walter Payton Man of the Year

Colquitt has been with the Chiefs since he was drafted by the club in 2005.

Wild Card Round - Kansas City Chiefs v Houston Texans Photo by Thomas B. Shea/Getty Images

The Kansas City Chiefs have nominated punter Dustin Colquitt for the 2018 NFL Walter Payton Man of the Year award, the league announced on Thursday.

The Chiefs drafted Colquitt, 36, back in the third round of the 2005 NFL Draft, and he has been with the club ever since. Colquitt probably had a chance to make more money on the free agent market this offseason but instead opted to re-sign with the Chiefs.

Colquitt’s charity of choice is Team Smile, whose “mission is to create connections between children’s service groups, dental professionals, professional sports organizations and their athletes.”

Colquitt has worked with Team Smile since 2007. In 2018 alone, Colquitt’s efforts will result in 7,750 underserved children receiving $3.5 million in complimentary dental and preventative care procedures.

The NFL says that new this year, Colquitt and the 31 other nominees will be highlighted as finalists and recognized for their important work during the weekend leading up to Super Bowl LIII. Colquitt will wear a Man of the Year helmet decal beginning Week 14 and continuing through the end of the season.

The Chicago Bears and Kansas City Chiefs have had more winners than any other team in league history with five apiece. Willie Lanier (1972), Len Dawson (1973), Derrick Thomas (1993), Will Shields (2003), and Brian Waters (2009) have all won the award as members of the Chiefs.

Here is the full list of league-wide nominees:

Arizona Cardinals S Antoine Bethea

Atlanta Falcons DT Grady Jarrett

Baltimore Ravens CB Brandon Carr

Buffalo Bills LB Lorenzo Alexander

Carolina Panthers DE Julius Peppers

Chicago Bears TE Trey Burton

Cincinnati Bengals DE Carlos Dunlap

Cleveland Browns LB Christian Kirksey

Dallas Cowboys QB Dak Prescott

Denver Broncos LB Von Miller

Detroit Lions QB Matthew Stafford

Green Bay Packers NT Kenny Clark

Houston Texans LB Whitney Mercilus

Indianapolis Colts DE Jabaal Sheard

Jacksonville Jaguars QB Blake Bortles

Kansas City Chiefs P Dustin Colquitt

Los Angeles Chargers DT Corey Liuget

Los Angeles Rams OT Andrew Whitworth

Miami Dolphins WR Kenny Stills

Minnesota Vikings TE Kyle Rudolph

New England Patriots S Devin McCourty

New Orleans Saints RB Mark Ingram

New York Giants S Michael Thomas

New York Jets OT Kelvin Beachum

Oakland Raiders RB Marshawn Lynch

Philadelphia Eagles DE Chris Long

Pittsburgh Steelers DE Cameron Heyward

San Francisco 49ers K Robbie Gould

Seattle Seahawks LB K.J. Wright

Tampa Bay Buccaneers DT Gerald McCoy

Tennessee Titans DT Jurrell Casey

Washington Redskins TE Vernon Davis

Thanksgiving deal: Save 20% on APP!

Use promo code GOCHIEFS20 to save 20% on your first year of Arrowhead Pride Premier. Sign up today for exclusive game analysis, subscriber-only videos, and much more on the Chiefs journey to back-to-back.