clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chiefs nominate Sammy Watkins for NFL Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Watkins is in his first season with the Chiefs.

Kansas City Chiefs v Cleveland Browns Photo by Kirk Irwin/Getty Images

The Kansas City Chiefs have nominated wide receiver Sammy Watkins for the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, per an official release from the NFL.

The award, created in 2014 to honor the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers, recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field (including fair play, respect for the game and opponents and integrity in competition).

The award is voted upon by the league’s players.

The past recipients of the award are: Cardinals wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald (2014), Raiders cornerback Charles Woodson (2015), Colts running back Frank Gore (2016) and Panthers linebacker Luke Kuechly (2017).

The winner will be announced at the NFL Honors the night before the Super Bowl in early February. The winner receives a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice, as well as a trophy.

Here is the full list of nominees for the award.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Arrowhead Pride Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Kansas City Chiefs news from Arrowhead Pride