clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chiefs land two players on the AP All-Pro team

The Pro Bowl gets the most attention but the true honor in the NFL is the Associated Press All-Pro team and the Kansas City Chiefs have two players who made the list: TE Travis Kelce and RT Mitch Schwartz were named second team All-Pro. Congrats to both players as both are very well deserved.

Kelce was the best tight end in the NFL this season. He his consistently more healthy than Gronk and this year started adding more touchdowns to his plate with a career high of eight this season. Gronk was the first team All-Pro with 40 votes to Kelce’s 10.

Schwartz was not a Pro Bowler which shows how bad the Pro Bowl can be. Schwartz faced fierce competition all year on the right side and allowed just three sacks. I work with his brother Geoff who was hoping that the All-Pro voters would get it right. They did, Geoff.

The Chiefs did not get RB Kareem Hunt in as he was behind MVP candidate Todd Gurley and Le’Veon Bell. Good company to be in, though. He had one vote.

Other votes (find the whole team here):

  • Kareem Hunt, Travis Kelce and Tyreek Hill all got votes at the flex position
  • Marcus Peters received one vote at cornerback
  • Tyreek Hill received three votes at punt returner

The All-Pro team doesn’t have a ton of replacements and alternates like the Pro Bowl does so it’s a higher honor to be named to it.

Full team below ...


Quarterback — Tom Brady, New England

Running Back — Todd Gurley, Los Angeles Rams

Flex — Le’Veon Bell, Pittsburgh

Tight End — Rob Gronkowski, New England

Wide Receivers — Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh; DeAndre Hopkins, Houston

Left Tackle — Andrew Whitworth, Los Angeles Rams

Right Tackle — Lane Johnson, Philadelphia

Left Guard — Andrew Norwell, Carolina

Right Guard — David DeCastro, Pittsburgh

Center — Jason Kelce, Philadelphia


Edge Rushers — Calais Campbell, Jacksonville; Cameron Jordan, New Orleans

Interior Linemen — Aaron Donald, Los Angeles Rams; Cam Heyward, Pittsburgh

Linebackers — Chandler Jones, Arizona; Luke Kuechly, Carolina; Bobby Wagner, Seattle

Cornerbacks — Jalen Ramsey, Jacksonville; Xavier Rhodes, Minnesota

Safeties — Kevin Byard, Tennessee; Harrison Smith, Minnesota

Defensive Back — Darius Slay, Detroit


Placekicker — Greg Zuerlein, Los Angeles Rams

Punter — Johnny Hekker, Los Angeles Rams

Kick Returner — Pharoh Cooper, Los Angeles Rams

Punt Returner — Jamal Agnew, Detroit

Special Teamer — Budda Baker, Arizona



Quarterback — Carson Wentz, Philadelphia

Running Back — Le’Veon Bell, Pittsburgh

Flex — Alvin Kamara, New Orleans

Tight End — Travis Kelce, Kansas City

Wide Receivers — Julio Jones, Atlanta; Adam Thielen, Minnesota

Left Tackle — David Bakhtiari, Green Bay

Right Tackle — Mitchell Schwartz, Kansas City, and Daryl Williams, Carolina

Left Guard — Rodger Saffold, Los Angeles Rams

Right Guard — Zach Martin, Dallas

Center — Alex Mack, Atlanta


Edge Rushers — Everson Griffen, Minnesota; Demarcus Lawrence, Dallas

Interior Linemen — Fletcher Cox, Philadelphia; Calais Campbell, Jacksonville

Linebackers — Von Miller, Denver; C.J. Mosley, Baltimore; Telvin Smith, Jacksonville

Cornerbacks — Casey Hayward, Los Angles Chargers; A. J. Bouye, Jacksonville

Safeties — Earl Thomas, Seattle; Micah Hyde, Buffalo

Defensive Back — Xavier Rhodes, Minnesota


Placekicker — Justin Tucker, Baltimore

Punter — Brett Kern, Tennessee

Kick Returner — Tyler Lockett, Seattle

Punt Returner — Pharoh Cooper, Los Angeles Rams

Special Teamer — Matthew Slater, New England

Arrowhead Pride Premier

Sign up now for a 7-day free trial of Arrowhead Pride Premier, with exclusive updates from Pete Sweeney on the ground at Arrowhead, instant reactions after each game, and in-depth Chiefs analysis from film expert Jon Ledyard.