clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chiefs training camp live updates for Friday, Facebook live and more

New, comments

TRAINING CAMP TIME! The Kansas City Chiefs are off to the races this afternoon with their first official training camp practice of the year at 3:30 p.m. (Arrowhead Time) and we have a live feed of updates below. It is open to the public so we expect a few thousand fans out there to welcome the Chiefs to their training camp home in St. Joseph, Missouri at the Missouri Western State University. The Chiefs have some nuts and bolts here like how to get there, autograph days and stuff like that. You can find the roster here.

FACEBOOK LIVE during practice: Click here to like Arrowhead Pride

The Chiefs camp will be a little different this year because of Alex Smith and Patrick Mahomes. Alex is the consistent one who has been here since 2013 but Mahomes represents the future as the Chiefs first round pick this year. It’ll be interesting to see how they do. It’ll also be interesting to see if Mahomes continues to take reps behind Tyler Bray.

The Chiefs will also feature some training camp position battles like running back where Spencer Ware and Kareem Hunt are likely to split time. The Chiefs are also looking for a solid third receiver — Demarcus Robinson? Albert Wilson? Jehu Chesson? De’Anthony Thomas? I’m not really sure who the Chiefs will go with there. I also want to keep an eye on Travis Kelce and his offseason shoulder surgery. How much is he participating in?

Defensively, the Chiefs are looking at a camp battle at the cornerback position opposite Marcus Peters with a number of candidates. They’re also expecting Derrick Johnson back which is awesome to see. Also awesome is Justin Houston. How will he and Dee Ford do? Oh, and Tamba Hali and his interesting week. What will the reaction there be?

Special teams wise, the Chiefs could be looking for a kick returner with Tyreek Hill expected to do more on offense. I’m not sure if the Chiefs will keep him on punt return like they did last year but I would be legit pissed off if he wasn’t returning punts. Don’t do that to me, Chiefs.

We’ll be collecting updates during camp so you will want to follow @ArrowheadPride AND @pgsween who is on the scene for us in St. Joe as well as this live Twitter feed below!

(Click here if you can’t see the feed)

Chiefs 2017 training camp schedule

All times CT

Friday, July 28 - Practice – 3:30 p.m.

  • First Practice Open to the Public – $5 Admission Fee
  • Team Autograph Session

Saturday, July 29 - Practice – 8:15 a.m.

Sunday, July 30 - Practice – 8:15 a.m.

  • Season Ticket Member Day
  • Team Autograph Session

Monday, July 31 - Practice – 8:15 a.m.

Tuesday, Aug. 1 - Practice – 9:15 a.m.

Wednesday, Aug. 2 - No Practice

Thursday, Aug. 3 - Practice – 8:15 a.m.

Friday, Aug. 4 - Practice – 8:15 a.m.

Saturday, Aug. 5 - Practice – 8:15 a.m.

  • Family Fun Day – $5 Admission Fee
  • Team Autograph Session

Sunday, Aug. 6 - Practice – 9:15 a.m.

  • Chiefs Alumni Day
  • Team Autograph Session

Monday, Aug. 7 - Practice – 8:15 a.m.

Tuesday, Aug. 8 - Practice – 8:15 a.m.

Wednesday, Aug. 9 - No Practice

Thursday, Aug. 10 - No Practice

Friday, Aug. 11 - Preseason Game No. 1 – Chiefs vs. 49ers – 8 p.m. CT

Saturday, Aug. 12 - No Practice

Sunday, Aug. 13 - Practice – 8:15 a.m.

Monday, Aug. 14 - Practice – 8:15 a.m.

Tuesday, Aug. 15 - Practice – 8:15 a.m.

Wednesday, Aug. 16 - Practice – 9:15 a.m.

Military Appreciation Day – Final Camp Practice

* Weather and field conditions are evaluated daily. All dates and times provided are subject to change. If practice is moved indoors due to poor conditions it will be closed to the public. The club will notify fans via social media channels as soon as a decision is made.