clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Alex Smith is the Chiefs’ nominee for the Walter Payton Man of the Year award

The Kansas City Chiefs have nominated Alex Smith for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year. Each NFL team announced their nominee today and Alex was the Chiefs pick for the second year in a row.

These are the 32 nominees. This list will be whittled down to three finalists in January and then at the NFL Honors show before the Super Bowl a winner will be announced.

You can find more on Alex’s charitable efforts here.

The Chiefs lead the league with five Man of the Year winners: Willie Lanier (1972), Len Dawson (1973), Derrick Thomas (1993), Will Shields (2003) and Brian Waters (2009).


Arizona Cardinals: Patrick Peterson

Atlanta Falcons: Ben Garland

Baltimore Ravens: Benjamin Watson

Buffalo Bills: Lorenzo Alexander

Carolina Panthers: Greg Olsen

Chicago Bears: Sam Acho

Cincinnati Bengals: Michael Johnson

Cleveland Browns: Randall Telfer

Dallas Cowboys: Travis Frederick

Denver Broncos: Chris Harris Jr.

Detroit Lions: Haloti Ngata

Green Bay Packers: Clay Matthews

Houston Texans: J.J. Watt

Indianapolis Colts: Darius Butler

Jacksonville Jaguars: Malik Jackson

Kansas City Chiefs: Alex Smith

Los Angeles Chargers: Casey Hayward

Los Angeles Rams: Rodger Saffold

Miami Dolphins: Kenny Stills

Minnesota Vikings: Kyle Rudolph

New England Patriots: Nate Solder

New Orleans Saints: Cameron Jordan

New York Giants: Mark Herzlich

New York Jets: Quincy Enunwa

Oakland Raiders: Bruce Irvin

Philadelphia Eagles: Malcolm Jenkins

Pittsburgh Steelers: Cameron Heyward

San Francisco 49ers: Bradley Pinion

Seattle Seahawks: Michael Bennett

Tampa Bay Buccaneers: Clinton McDonald

Tennessee Titans: Wesley Woodyard

Washington Redskins: Nick Sundberg

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Arrowhead Pride Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Kansas City Chiefs news from Arrowhead Pride