clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kansas City Chiefs will be players during awards season

The MMQB did their own set of NFL awards which will give us a nice preview of what to expect when the AP awards come out. The MMQB had a big panel and they picked their top five players for each award. The votes were tallied and they posted the results. Let’s go through a few of these.

MVP: No Chiefs

Coach of the year: Andy Reid (5th) .... He got no first place votes but ended up in fifth. That sounds about right. This year should go to Jason Garrett of the Cowboys. Reid is in the conversation but won’t win.

Assistant coach of the year: Dave Toub (8th) ... I saw a couple of offensive line coaches mentioned in there and a secondary coach but no other special teams coaches. The Chiefs were the best in that area by far.

Executive of the year: John Dorsey (7th) ... Sorta like Reid and the coach of the year, Dorsey’s going to be in the conversation for this most year but won’t win it this year.

Offensive player of the year: Travis Kelce (12th) ... Kelce got some love down the list a little bit. His name is being mentioned. He needs to do it a few more years in a row.

Defensive player of the year: Eric Berry (6th), Marcus Peters (8th) ... Two Chiefs! These are the two I would pick. Mike Silver did a nice job in The MMQB piece explaining why Berry deserves this award.

Offensive rookie of the year: Tyreek Hill (3rd) ... Any other year he wins this. The Cowboys’ Ezekiel Elliott and Dak Prescott beat him out.

Defensive rookie of the year: Chris Jones (4th) ... Joey Bosa, Jalen Ramsey and Keanu Neal were ahead of him. They were all top 17 picks. Jones was in the second round.

Comeback player of the year: Eric Berry (12th) ... Odd choice.

It's Game Time.

It's time for a title defense in Chiefs Kingdom. Sign up for Arrowhead Pride Premier and we’ll deliver 3 newsletters leading up to the Super Bowl packed with exclusive coverage and analysis from Las Vegas you won’t find anywhere else. For a limited time, use the code SUPERBOWL30 to save 30% plus a free trial