clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chiefs 2017 schedule includes every AFC playoff team

The Kansas City Chiefs regular season is over which means we now know their 2017 schedule. Well, we know who they will play and where but we don’t know when they play.

Here are the Chiefs 2017 opponents:

Home: Broncos, Raiders, Chargers, Bills, Dolphins, Eagles, Redskins, Steelers

Away: Broncos, Raiders, Chargers, Patriots, Jets, Cowboys, Giants, Texans

You notice something about this list? It includes every AFC playoff team. I count eight total games against playoff teams. This is the second hardest schedule in the NFL (only Denver’s is harder because they’re playing the Chiefs).

The schedule is formulaic. Six games are made up of the Chiefs playing each AFC West team twice, then they play a rotating AFC and NFC division each year. This year that’s the AFC East and NFC East. The Chiefs finished first place so they play the first place team in the AFC North (Steelers) and AFC South (Texans). That’s who the Chiefs get their 16-game schedule.

It's Game Time.

It's time for a title defense in Chiefs Kingdom. Sign up for Arrowhead Pride Premier and we’ll deliver 3 newsletters leading up to the Super Bowl packed with exclusive coverage and analysis from Las Vegas you won’t find anywhere else. For a limited time, use the code SUPERBOWL30 to save 30% plus a free trial