clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chiefs 53-man roster, post-roster cuts: Knile Davis among the surprises

The Kansas City Chiefs 53-man roster is now in. At least the initial version. The Chiefs made their roster cuts and will make a 10-man practice squad on Sunday. In between that, they’ll be working the waiver wire so this roster could change by tomorrow.

I took the Chiefs last depth chart and took out the names that were released and the below is what we’re left with. Don’t pay too much attention to who’s in front of who as the Chiefs don’t make this accurate.

(Editor’s note: So important note here. The Chiefs have 54 players here because they have an exemption for Berry. That will expire next week.)

A few observations:

De’Anthony Thomas makes the 53-man roster. The Chiefs kept six receivers after trading Rod Streater and they kept DAT. Surprised?

So does Knile Davis. So far. Changes could still happen. We all thought he was gone but here he stays. He is the fourth back on the roster ahead of Darrin Reaves, who was cut.

Chiefs keep eight offensive linemen. Jordan Devey is the one that not everyone had in their 53-man predictions. He has some NFL experience so I get it.

Four tight ends. James O’Shaughnessy snuck in. Look at how often the Chiefs used three tight end sets in the preseason. Andy Reid has been doing that for years. I get the four tight ends.

Six defensive linemen speaks to the depth. The Chiefs cut Jimmy Staten and David King who will play for other teams in the league. They kept six of their own linemen which is a lot. It really speaks to the depth there.


QB: Alex Smith, Nick Foles, Tyler Bray

WR: Jeremy Maclin, Tyreek Hill, De’Anthony Thomas

LT: Eric Fisher

LG: Parker Ehinger

C: Mitch Morse, Zach Fulton

RG: Laurent Duvernay-Tardif, Jordan Devey

RT: Mitch Schwartz, Jah Reid

TE: Travis Kelce, Demetrius Harris, Ross Travis, James O’Shaughnessy

WR: Albert Wilson, Chris Conley, Demarcus Robinson

RB: Jamaal Charles, Charcandrick West, Spencer Ware, Knile Davis

FB: Anthony Sherman


LDE: Jaye Howard, Chris Jones

NT: Dontari Poe, Rakeem Nunez-Roches

RDE: Allen Bailey, Nick Williams

LOLB: Dee Ford, Dadi Nicolas

LILB: Derrick Johnson, DJ Alexander, Justin March

RILB: Ramik Wilson

ROLB: Tamba Hali, Frank Zombo, Dezman Moses

LCB: Marcus Peters, KeiVarae Russell, Kenneth Acker

RCB: Steven Nelson, Phillip Gaines, DJ White

SS: Eric Berry, Daniel Sorensen, Eric Murray

FS: Ron Parker


P: Dustin Colquitt

LS: James Winchester

K: Cairo Santos

It's Game Time.

It's time for a title defense in Chiefs Kingdom. Sign up for Arrowhead Pride Premier and we’ll deliver 3 newsletters leading up to the Super Bowl packed with exclusive coverage and analysis from Las Vegas you won’t find anywhere else. For a limited time, use the code SUPERBOWL30 to save 30% plus a free trial