clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NFL Hall of Fame class of 2016: Announcement time, candidates and more

New, comments
Jamie Squire/Getty Images

The 2016 Pro Football Hall of Fame class will be announced on Saturday afternoon after voters get together to make their decisions. There are 18 total finalists for this year's HOF class -- 15 modern-era candidates, two senior candidates and one from the contributor section. The list went from 108 nominations to 25 semi-finalists to now 15 modern era finalists.

Will Shields got in last year so the remaining player with Kansas City Chiefs ties is kicker Morten Andersen. As great as he was and as long as he played, I suspect it will be a while for him. There are a couple of Broncos players here that are familiar in KC. Steve Atwater once delivered that brutal blow to Christian Okoye. Terrell Davis didn't have a very long run so I'm somewhat surprised to see his name held in this regard. There's also safety John Lynch, who was also with the Bucs.

Alan Faneca, Brett Favre and Terrell Owens are first-year nominees.

Here are the finalists below and here's a link to more on each of them. The 2016 class will be announced at the NFL Honors show on Saturday night (9 p.m. ET CBS).

Morten Andersen, Kicker -- 1982-1994 New Orleans Saints, 1995-2000, 2006-07 Atlanta Falcons, 2001 New York Giants, 2002-03 Kansas City Chiefs, 2004 Minnesota Vikings

Steve Atwater, Safety -- 1989-1998 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York Jets

Don Coryell, Coach -- 1973-77 St. LouisCardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers

Terrell Davis, Running Back -- 1995-2001 Denver Broncos

Tony Dungy, Coach -- 1996-2001Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2002-08 Indianapolis Colts

Alan Faneca, Guard -- 1998-2007 Pittsburgh Steelers, 2008-09 New York Jets, 2010 Arizona Cardinals

Brett Favre, Quarterback -- 1991 Atlanta Falcons, 1992-2007 Green Bay Packers, 2008 New York Jets, 2009-2010 Minnesota Vikings

Kevin Greene, Linebacker/Defensive End -- 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers

Marvin Harrison, Wide Receiver --1996-2008 Indianapolis Colts

Joe Jacoby, Tackle -- 1981-1993Washington Redskins

Edgerrin James, Running Back --1999-2005 Indianapolis Colts, 2006-08 Arizona Cardinals, 2009 Seattle Seahawks

John Lynch, Free Safety -- 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos

Terrell Owens, Wide Receiver -- 1996-2003 San Francisco 49ers, 2004-05 Philadelphia Eagles, 2006-08 Dallas Cowboys, 2009 Buffalo Bills, 2010 Cincinnati Bengals

Orlando Pace, Tackle -- 1997-2008 St. Louis Rams, 2009 Chicago Bears

Kurt Warner, Quarterback -- 1998-2003 St. Louis Rams, 2004 New York Giants, 2005-09 Arizona Cardinals

Senior finalists

Ken Stabler, Quarterback -- 1970-1979Oakland Raiders, 1980-1981 Houston Oilers, 1982-1984 New Orleans Saints

Dick Stanfel, Guard -- 1952-55 Detroit Lions, 1956-58 Washington Redskins

Contributor finalist

Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Owner -- 1977-2000 San Francisco 49ers