clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kansas City Chiefs depth chart 2015: First edition of training camp

Denny Medley-USA TODAY Sports

We have a depth chart! The Kansas City Chiefs have released their first unofficial depth chart ahead of the first preseason game next weekend against the Arizona Cardinals. Andy Reid will emphasize that this is all unofficial and he only fills it out because the league makes him. But still, there's something we can learn from it.

There are no shockers on this but a few things are worth noting:

The injured players are listed at the bottom of the depth chart, including Dontari Poe, Demetrius Harris and Chris Conley. There's not much we can learn from where they're slotted. Jaye Howard is at nose tackle in place of Poe.

Albert Wilson is the No. 2 receiver behind Jeremy Maclin. The momentum for this spot was totally different during the spring when Wilson was hurt during OTAs and Conley was having a really good offseason. Now it's switched - Wilson is playing while Conley is hurt.

Rookie James O'Shaughnessy is listed as the second tight end. Demetrius Harris is injured but I was curious where Harris would be if he were healthy. Above or below O'Shaughnessy?

Paul Fanaika. Three years, $8.1 million. Third team guard. Yikes.

Eric Kush is the first center. Then Mitch Morse. Just like training camp practice.

Marcus Peters is the second corner behind Phillip Gaines. The question is how they'll get Peters, Gaines and Sean Smith on the field together. I'm guessing Gaines flips to the slot in that case.

L'Damian Washington has been here for just a few days and he's already ahead of UDFA Kenny Cook. Interesting.

There was no leader in the long snapper battle two days ago but they need to put someone there. James Winchester is listed ahead of Andrew East.

Here's the whole thing:


WR: Jeremy Maclin, Jason Avant, Da'Ron Brown, L'Damian Washington, Kenny Cook, Junior Hemingway, Chris Conley

LT: Eric Fisher, Jarrod Pughsley, Tavon Rooks

LG: Ben Grubbs, Laurent Duvernay-Tardif, Paul Fanaika

C: Eric Kush, Mitch Morse, Daniel Munyer

RG: Jeff Allen, Zach Fulton, Marcus Reed

RT: Donald Stephenson, Derek Sherrod, Garrett Frye

TE: Travis Kelce, James O'Shaughnessy, Richard Gordon, Ryan Taylor, Adam Schiltz, Demetrius Harris

WR: Albert Wilson, De'Anthony Thomas, Frankie Hammond, Fred Williams, Tello Luckett, Armon Binns, Jeret Smith

QB: Alex Smith, Chase Daniel, Aaron Murray, Tyler Bray

RB: Jamaal Charles, Knile Davis, Charcandrick West, Darrin Reaves

FB: Anthony Sherman, Spencer Ware


LDE: Mike DeVito, Mike Catapano, Rakeem Nunez-Roches, David Irving

NT: Jaye Howard, Hebron Fangupo, Charles Tuaau, Dontari Poe

RDE: Allen Bailey, Nick Williams, Vaughn Martin

LOLB: Justin Houston, Dezman Moses, Josh Martin

LILB: Josh Mauga, Ramik Wilson, James-Michael Johnson

RILB: Derrick Johnson, DJ Alexander, Justin March

ROLB: Tamba Hali, Dee Ford, Frank Zombo

LCB: Phillip Gaines, Marcus Peters, Marcus Cooper, Kenneth Penny, Kevin Short

RCB: Sean Smith, Jamell Fleming, Steven Nelson, Deji Olatoye, Aaron Hester

SS: Ron Parker, Tyvon Branch, Kelcie McCray

FS: Husain Abdullah, Eric Berry, Daniel Sorensen, Sanders Commings


P: Dustin Colquitt, Cairo Santos

K: Cairo Santos, Dustin Colquitt

KO: Cairo Santos, Dustin Colquitt

LS: James Winchester, Andrew East

H: Dustin Colquitt, Chase Daniel

PR: De'Anthony Thomas, Jeremy Maclin

KR: Knile Davis, Chris Conley

NEW: Join Arrowhead Pride Premier

If you love Arrowhead Pride, you won’t want to miss Pete Sweeney in your inbox each week as he delivers deep analysis and insights on the Chiefs' path to the Super Bowl.