clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Honors show: Will Shields up for 2015 NFL Hall of Fame, Justin Houston gets Deacon Jones award

The nuts and bolts on the Hall of Fame announcement tonight.

Al Messerschmidt/Getty Images

The NFL Honors show will be on NBC at 8 p.m. (Arrowhead Time) Saturday evening when the 2015 Pro Football Hall of Fame class will be announced, along with season-long awards such as the AP most valuable player and the offensive and defensive players of the year.

There are several Kansas City Chiefs connections to watch out for in this evening's show. Former Chiefs guard Will Shields is a 2015 Hall of Fame finalist so the final results of his candidacy will be announced this evening.'s BJ Kissel has an excellent look at Shields here. Then there's linebacker Justin Houston, who already won the Deacon Jones award as the NFL's sack leader. Houston could also be a candidate for defensive player of the year but I imagine that's going to the Houston Texans' JJ Watt. Chiefs quarterback Alex Smith is also a candidate for the NFL's sportsmanship award.

How to watch

Time: 8 p.m. (Arrowhead Time)

TV channel: NBC (red carpet coverage on NFL Network at 7 p.m.)

The awards

AP Most Valuable Player

AP Coach of the year

AP Offensive player of the year

AP Defensive player of the year

AP Offensive rookie of the year

AP Defensive rookie of the year

AP Comeback player of the year

NFL Sportsmanship award Fantasy player of the year

Walter Payton NFL Man of the year

FedEx Air and Ground players of the year

Play of the year

Salute to service award

2015 Pro Football Hall of Fame finalists

Will Shields, Guard - 1993-2006 Kansas City Chiefs

Morten Andersen, Kicker - 1982-1994 New Orleans Saints, 1995-2000, 2006-07 Atlanta Falcons, 2001 New York Giants, 2002-03 Kansas City Chiefs, 2004 Minnesota Vikings

Jerome Bettis, Running Back - 1993-95 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 1996-2005Pittsburgh Steelers

Tim Brown, Wide Receiver/Kick Returner/Punt Returner - 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders, 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Don Coryell, Coach - 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978 -1986 San Diego Chargers

Terrell Davis, Running Back - 1995-2001 Denver Broncos

Tony Dungy, Coach - 1996-2001 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2002-08 Indianapolis Colts

Kevin Greene, Linebacker/Defensive End - 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers

Charles Haley, Defensive End/Linebacker - 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96Dallas Cowboys

Marvin Harrison, Wide Receiver - 1996-2008 Indianapolis Colts

Jimmy Johnson, Coach - 1989-1993 Dallas Cowboys, 1996- 99 Miami Dolphins

John Lynch, Free Safety - 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos

Orlando Pace, Tackle - 1997-2008 St. Louis Rams, 2009 Chicago Bears

Junior Seau, Linebacker - 1990-2002 San Diego Chargers, 2003-05 Miami Dolphins, 2006-09 New England Patriots

Kurt Warner, Quarterback - 1998-2003 St. Louis Rams, 2004 New York Giants, 2005-09 Arizona Cardinals

(Senior Finalist) Mick Tingelhoff, center

(Contributor Finalist) Bill Polian, executive

(Contributor Finalist) Ron Wolf, executive

Pro Football Hall of Fame voting rules

Complete details at the HOF website.

At the annual meeting, each of the nominees is thoroughly discussed by the committee before a series of reduction votes are taken.  First, the two senior candidates are discussed and voted on for election.  They must receive the same 80 percent affirmative vote as the modern-era candidates. Next, the there is a vote that reduces the modern-era finalists list from 15 to 10.  Following that, a vote is taken to reduce the list from 10 to 5 names.  The five remaining candidates for Hall of Fame election are then voted on individually (yes or no) for membership.

In order to be elected a finalist must receive a minimum of 80% of the vote.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Arrowhead Pride Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Kansas City Chiefs news from Arrowhead Pride