clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Former Kansas City Chiefs' Will Shields among those nominated for 2015 Pro Football HOF

Former Chiefs players and coaches among the 2015 Pro Football Hall of Fame nominees.

John Sleezer/Kansas City Star/MCT via Getty Images

The first set of nominees for the 2015 Pro Football Hall of Fame have been released with a number of ties to the Kansas City Chiefs. There are 113 candidates currently on the list. 25 of those will advance as semifinalists in late November. In January, 15 more will advance as finalists.

The former Chiefs ties include:

Former Chiefs players: QB Rich Gannon, RB Priest Holmes, G Will Shields, CB Ty Law, S Albert Lewis, K Morten Anderson, K Nick Lowery

Former Chiefs coaches: Marty Schottenheimer, Dick Vermeil

Of that group, Will Shields looks like the best shot at getting in. I do think he gets in eventually but it would not surprise me if it took even longer. He was a finalist last year so anything other than that would be a step backwards. Marty Schottenheimer is another one that merits serious consideration.

Nominees for the 2015 HOF class

*Finalist in 2014; First-year eligible

Quarterbacks: (4) - Randall Cunningham, Rich Gannon, Phil Simms, Kurt Warner

Wide Receivers: (9) - *Tim Brown (also KR), Isaac Bruce, Gary Clark, Henry Ellard (also PR), *Marvin HarrisonTorry Holt, Sterling Sharpe, Jimmy Smith, Rod Smith

Tight End: (1) - Mark Bavaro

Running Backs: (14) - Shaun Alexander, Ottis Anderson, Tiki Barber, *Jerome Bettis, Roger Craig, Stephen Davis, Terrell Davis, Eddie George, Priest Holmes, Edgerrin James, Daryl Johnston, Jamal Lewis, Herschel Walker (also KR), Ricky Watters

Offensive Linemen: (23) - Willie Anderson (T), Tony Boselli (T), Jeff Bostic (C), Lomas Brown (T), Jim Covert (T), Bill Fralic (G/T), Jay Hilgenberg (C), Chris Hinton (G/T), Kent Hull (C), Joe Jacoby (T),  Jon Jansen (T), Mike Kenn (T), Jim Lachey (T),  Kevin Mawae (C/G), Mark May (G/T/C),Tom Nalen (C), Nate Newton (G), Orlando Pace (T), Chris Samuels (T), Mark Schlereth (G), *Will Shields (G), Tra Thomas (T), Steve Wisniewski (G)

Defensive Linemen:
(12) - Al "Bubba" Baker (DE), Jerome Brown (DT), Carl Hairston  (DE/DT),  *Charles Haley (also LB), Jevon Kearse (DE), Dexter Manley (DE), Charles Mann (DE), Steve McMichael (DT/NT), Fred Smerlas (NT), Greg Townsend (DE), Ted Washington (DT/NT), Bryant Young (DE)

Linebackers: (13) - Cornelius Bennett, Tedy Bruschi, *Kevin Greene (also DE), Ken Harvey,  Clay Matthews, Willie McGinest (also DE),  Karl Mecklenburg, Matt Millen, Sam Mills, Junior Seau, Chris Spielman, Darryl Talley, Zach Thomas

Defensive Backs: (16) - Eric Allen (CB), Steve Atwater (S), Joey Browner (S), LeRoy Butler (S), Thomas Everett (S), Rodney Harrison (S), Ty Law (CB), Albert Lewis (CB), *John Lynch (S), Terry McDaniel (CB), Tim McDonald (S), Frank Minnifield (CB), Shawn Springs (CB), Troy Vincent (CB/S), Everson Walls (CB), Darren Woodson (S)

Kickers/Punters: (5) - *Morten Andersen (K), Gary Anderson (K), Jason Elam (K), Sean Landeta (P), Nick Lowery (K) 

Special Teams/Position Players: (2) - Brian Mitchell (RB/PR/KR), Steve Tasker (also WR)

Coaches: (14) -Don Coryell, Bill Cowher, *Tony Dungy, Tom Flores, Mike Holmgren, Jimmy Johnson, Chuck Knox, Buddy Parker, Richie Petitbon, Dan Reeves, Lou Saban, Marty Schottenheimer, Clark Shaughnessy, Dick Vermeil

Arrowhead Pride Premier

Sign up now for a 7-day free trial of Arrowhead Pride Premier, with exclusive updates from Pete Sweeney on the ground at Arrowhead, instant reactions after each game, and in-depth Chiefs analysis from film expert Jon Ledyard.