clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chiefs' Jamaal Charles third in AP offensive player of the year voting

Denver Broncos' Peyton Manning takes home the AP offensive player of the year award while Kansas City Chiefs' Jamaal Charles was third.

Jed Jacobsohn

Like the AP NFL coach of the year voting, the results of the AP offensive player of the year award are not satisfying to Kansas City Chiefs fans. The Associated Press named Peyton Manning the offensive player of the year while Philadelphia Eagles' LeSean McCoy came in second and Jamaal Charles came in third.

I didn't expect Jamaal Charles to win this award -- Peyton was the obvious pick -- but I did expect him to come in second. This is the second award McCoy has picked up over Jamaal, the other being the FedEx Ground player of the year.

NFL Honors: All the award winners

Peyton Manning was the choice for this award all along. There's no question about it. You have a strong argument with Andy Reid and the NFL coach of the year award but that argument is not nearly as strong when you're putting Jamaal up against Peyton.

Still, the Chiefs 2013 season was a huge success and Jamaal, who has been great for a few years now, did something he hasn't done a lot of in his career -- score touchdowns. And people tend to notice you when you score a lot of touchdowns.

NEW: Join Arrowhead Pride Premier

If you love Arrowhead Pride, you won’t want to miss Pete Sweeney in your inbox each week as he delivers deep analysis and insights on the Chiefs' path to the Super Bowl.