clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kansas City Chiefs' Will Shields a Hall of Fame semifinalist again

Is this the year for former Chiefs great Will Shields?

Brian Bahr/Getty Images

The Pro Football Hall of Fame has whittled down a list of 116 nominees down to 26 semifinalists for the 2015 class of the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Those players with Kansas City Chiefs ties includes K Morten Anderson (2002-03), CB Ty Law (2006-07) and G Will Shields (1993-2006).

First time semifinalists include QB Kurt Warner, WR Isaac Bruce, WR Torry Holt, RB Edgerrin James, OL Kevin Mawae, OL Orlando Pace, LB Junior Seau, CB Ty Law, T Mike Kenn and S Darren Woodson.

GMs Bill Polian and Ron Wolf are candidates under the contributors label while Vikings C Mike Tingelhoff is the senior candidate.

These 26 semifinalists will be voted down to 15 finalists. Will Shields has made it to the finalist stage the past three seasons so Chiefs fans are obviously hoping this is the year he breaks through.

After the finalists are chosen in early January, they will be voted on for inclusion into the Hall of Fame the day before the 2015 Super Bowl (January 31).

Here is the list of semifinalists.

Morten Andersen, K
Steve Atwater, S
Jerome Bettis, RB
Tim Brown, RB
Isaac Bruce, WR
Don Coryell, coach
Roger Craig, RB
Terrell Davis, RB
Tony Dungy, coach
Kevin Greene, LB
Charles Haley, DE
Marvin Harrison, WR
Torry Holt, WR
Joe Jacoby, OL
Edgerrin James, RB
Jimmy Johnson, coach
Mike Kenn, OL
Ty Law, CB
John Lynch, S
Kevin Mawae, OL
Karl Mecklenburg, LB
Orlando Pace, OL
Junior Seau, LB
Will Shields, OL
Kurt Warner, QB
Darren Woodson, S

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Arrowhead Pride Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Kansas City Chiefs news from Arrowhead Pride