clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kansas City Chiefs 2013 schedule: Dates, game times, strength of schedule and more

The 2013 NFL schedule has been released which means the Kansas City Chiefs know where they'll be for the 2013 season. At home, the Chiefs will play the Denver Broncos, San Diego Chargers, Oakland Raiders, Houston Texans, Indianapolis Colts, Cleveland Browns, Dallas Cowboys and New York Giants. On the road the Chiefs will face Denver Broncos, San Diego Chargers, Oakland Raiders, Jacksonville Jaguars, Tennessee Titans, Philadelphia Eagles, Washington Redskins and Buffalo Bills.

John Rieger-USA TODAY Sports

Time to start planning your football season, Kansas City Chiefs fans. The 2013 NFL schedule is out. Here is who the KC Chiefs will play in the 2013 season:

Week 1. @ Jacksonville Jaguars (Sept. 8, 12 p.m., CBS)

Week 2. Dallas Cowboys (Sept. 15, 12 p.m., Fox)

Week 3. @ Philadelphia Eagles (Sept. 19, 7:25 p.m., NFLN)

Week 4. New York Giants (Sept. 29, 12 p.m., Fox)

Week 5. @ Tennessee Titans (Oct. 6, 12 p.m., CBS)

Week 6. Oakland Raiders (Oct 13, 12 p.m., CBS)

Week 7. Houston Texans (Oct 20, 12 p.m., CBS)

Week 8. Cleveland Browns (Oct. 27, 12 p.m., CBS)

Week 9. @ Buffalo Bills (Nov. 3, 12 p.m., CBS)

Week 10. BYE

Week 11. @ Denver Broncos (Nov. 17, 3:05 p.m., CBS)

Week 12. San Diego Chargers (Nov. 24, 12 p.m., CBS)

Week 13. Denver Broncos (Dec. 1, 12 p.m., CBS)

Week 14. @ Washington Redskins (Dec. 8, 12 p.m., CBS)

Week 15. @ Oakland Raiders (Dec. 15, 3:05 p.m., CBS)

Week 16. Indianapolis Colts (Dec. 22, 12 p.m., CBS)

Week 17. @ San Diego Chargers (Dec. 29, 3:25 p.m., CBS)

Primetime games: 1 (Thursday night, vs Eagles, Week 3)

Strength of schedule: .473 (5th easiest)

The NFL schedule is formulaic so we know most of the schedule for future years. The Chiefs play one NFC Division each year, which accounts for four games a year. This year that is the NFC East. Then there are the six AFC West games each year, which include the Raiders, Chargers and Broncos. The Chiefs also play a rotating AFC division each year -- this year that's the AFC South, which includes the Texans, Colts, Jaguars and Titans. From there they play the two teams in each of the remaining AFC divisions that finished in the same spot in the standings as they did in the previous year -- that's the Browns (AFC North) and Bills (AFC East) this year.

The Chiefs are hosting the Giants and Cowboys and going on the road against the Eagles and Redskins this year despite the fact that's the same set up as it was in 2009. Because of some tweaks when they reset the schedule, that home/away set-up will remain the same this year as it was four years ago.

If the formula remains the same, the Chiefs future opponents should be:

2014: AFC East, NFC West, AFC South and AFC North divisional finish, AFC West

2015: AFC North, NFC North, AFC East and AFC South divisional finish, AFC West

2016: AFC South, NFC South, AFC East and AFC North divisional finish, AFC West

Chiefs 2013 preseason schedule:

Week 1 (Friday, Aug. 9, 7 p.m. CBS): at Saints
Week 2 (Friday, Aug. 16, 7 p.m. CBS): 49ers
Week 3 (Saturday, Aug. 24, 6:30 p.m. CBS): at Steelers
Week 4 (Thursday, Aug. 29, 7 p.m. CBS): Packers

NEW: Join Arrowhead Pride Premier

If you love Arrowhead Pride, you won’t want to miss Pete Sweeney in your inbox each week as he delivers deep analysis and insights on the Chiefs' path to the Super Bowl.