clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Who is the Kansas City Chiefs team MVP and rookie of the year?

The Kansas City Chiefs will announce their team MVP from the 2012 season on Saturday. The team MVP should be an easy choice (read: Charles, Jamaal). But who is the rookie of the year?


The Kansas City Chiefs PR department says they will announce the Chiefs team MVP (Derrick Thomas award) and rookie of the year (Mack Lee Hill award) on Saturday.

I have a sneaking suspicion Jamaal Charles will win the team MVP award. In fact, I can't think of another candidate who affected the team as much as he did. Yes, even in a two-win season. So I would be very surprised if Charles didn't win the award.

Rookie of the year is a little harder. Not as easy as it's been in the last few years. Check out previous winners:

  • 2006 Tamba Hali
  • 2007 Dwayne Bowe
  • 2008 Maurice Leggett
  • 2009 Ryan Succop
  • 2010 Eric Berry
  • 2011 Justin Houston

So, who is the rookie of the year?

A few options...

NT Dontari Poe: He was a contributor all season long. He got better as the season went on, too, which is encouraging. He had the most complete season of any rookie.

G Jeff Allen: He started 13 games after Ryan Lilja replaced Rodney Hudson. No, he wasn't great but he did contribute quite a bit in his rookie year, a season where we did not expect him to be a starter.

G Donald Stephenson: Also not expected to start, Stephenson stepped in when Branden Albert injured his back. Like Allen, he wasn't great but he did see playing time.

Your choice in the poll below.

It's Game Time.

It's time for a title defense in Chiefs Kingdom. Sign up for Arrowhead Pride Premier and we’ll deliver 3 newsletters leading up to the Super Bowl packed with exclusive coverage and analysis from Las Vegas you won’t find anywhere else. For a limited time, use the code SUPERBOWL30 to save 30% plus a free trial