clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bill Belichick Wins AP Coach Of The Year; Todd Haley In Third

Getty Images

Last month Kansas City Chiefs head coach Todd Haley was voted the coach of the year at the 101 awards. Unfortunately he didn't have a repeat performance with the Associated Press.

New England Patriots head coach Bill Belichick was named the AP coach of the year. The news shouldn't come as a huge surprise considering the voting is done at the end of the regular season and postseason results aren't taken into account. The Patriots went 14-2 on the year and started more rookies than any other team (right ahead of the Chiefs).

Belichick received 30 of the 50 votes while Tampa Bay Buccaneers head coach Raheem Morris had 11.5 votes. Haley came in third with 4.5 votes while the following coaches received one vote: Atlanta Falcons' Mike Smith, Philadelphia Eagles' Andy Reid, Chicago Bears' Lovie Smith and St. Louis Rams' Steve Spagnuolo.

This is fair, I think. You could make an argument Haley and Morris should be a little closer but I think the results are fair.

This means that the next time Haley's up for this award, it probably won't be because he took a four-win team and turned them into a 10-win team. It'll be because he coaches one of the best teams in the NFL.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Arrowhead Pride Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Kansas City Chiefs news from Arrowhead Pride