clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Le'Ron McClain Gets To Keep His Touchdown

New, comments
Getty Images

I'm a couple days late with this one but Le'Ron McClain's touchdown in last weekend's game against the Oakland Raiders will remain Le'Ron McClain's touchdown

Let's go back to the play so you know why we have to mention that he keeps his touchdown.

After Dwayne Bowe's first quarter touchdown was reversed by the replay officials, and Richard Seymour got a five-yard penalty, the Chiefs had a first and goal from the one-yard line. McClain took a carry to the right side of the offensive line and replays showed that before he crossed the goal line, he lost control of the ball and it went spilling into the end zone. Ultimately, Jon Asamoah recovered the ball but the refs ruled that it wasn't a fumble and the touchdown belonged to McClain.

The league goes back and does stat corrections each week but did not put up a correction for this play. 

That means McClain keeps his touchdown and Asamoah is denied the first six points of his career.