clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kansas City Chiefs 2011 Scheduled Opponents Are Set

Update: The complete Kansas City Chiefs 2011 schedule has been released. Check it out.

The Kansas City Chiefs 2011 schedule is complete...sort of. While we don't know the date and times of each game, we do know the home and road opponents in 2011. The NFL schedule is actually a formula. You play division opponents twice for six total gams, one NFC division for 10 total games, one AFC division for 14 total games and the two teams in the other two AFC divisions that finished in the same positions as the Chiefs.

Since the Chiefs finished in first place in the AFC West, their division is significantly more difficult (on paper at least). Instead of the NFC West, they'll play the NFC North and instead of the AFC South they'll play the AFC East.

Here are all 16 opponents:

Home opponents: San Diego Chargers, Oakland Raiders, Denver Broncos, Buffalo Bills, Green Bay Packers, Miami Dolphins, Minnesota Vikings and Pittsburgh Steelers.

Road opponents: San Diego Chargers, Oakland Raiders, Denver Broncos, Chicago Bears, Detroit Lions, New England Patriots, New York Jets and Indianapolis Colts.

That's six of 16 teams on the 2011 schedule that are in the playoffs this year. And then of course the AFC West, where the Chargers have beat up on the Chiefs in three of their last four games. Same goes with the Raiders who have won three of four in the Todd Haley era.

The NFL wil release the full schedule in mid-April and we'll get into that a little later because for now it's playoff time.

(H/T Josh Looney of for the opponent list)

NEW: Join Arrowhead Pride Premier

If you love Arrowhead Pride, you won’t want to miss Pete Sweeney in your inbox each week as he delivers deep analysis and insights on the Chiefs' path to the Super Bowl.