clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chiefs Have Decisions To Make On 2011 Free Agents

Getty Images
With the NFL's labor situation, it sounds like many teams will have plenty of time to make decisions on free agents. Until a new CBA is negotiated there won't be free agency which means there are a bunch of players in limbo heading into next year. 

The Kansas City Star has collected a list of Chiefs without contracts heading into 2011.There are some players that may be eligible for restricted free agency depending on the details that make it into the new CBA and then there are others that will retire or simply won't be re-signed by the Chiefs.

Out of the list of 25 names listed by the Star, I picked out my top five players that need to be re-signed.
LB Tamba Hali: He's the top guy heading into 2011. He's arguably their best defensive player but plays at a premium positions (pass-rusher) which means premium dollars. This will probably be the focal point of the offseason.

CB Brandon Carr: He's in just his third year and we're thinking the new labor deal will keep restricted free agency and he'll be eligible. If that's the case, they can tender him and play out 2011 or work on a long-term deal.

DE Shaun Smith: We talked about him the other day. I think he needs to come back because he quickly assimilated himself into the Chiefs defense and became a disruptive player.

C Casey Wiegmann: He will be 37 years old by the time the season starts. He was an important player and I don't know what they think about Rudy Niswanger. Do you bring him back on a one-year deal? Does he want to come back? I can see this one going either way.

DE Wallace Gilberry: He was an unknown entering 2010 and became a solid role player who ended the season second on the team in sacks. He's like Carr in that he could be a restricted free agent.

NEW: Join Arrowhead Pride Premier

If you love Arrowhead Pride, you won’t want to miss Pete Sweeney in your inbox each week as he delivers deep analysis and insights on the Chiefs' path to the Super Bowl.