clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

And The Derrick Thomas Award Goes To...

Every year, Mike Florio of Pro Football Talk hands out the hardware after the season has ended. One of the awards is rightly named for the late Kansas City Chiefs LB Derrick Thomas.

Our next PFT Heroes award is named for former Chiefs linebacker Derrick Thomas, who was added to the Pro Football Hall of Fame to launch the 2009 season.  (Carl Peterson should be wrapping up his speech any minute now.)

No linebacker had a greater impact during the decade that Thomas spent harassing quarterbacks.  His exploits included an uncanny seven sacks in one game, causing Dave Krieg to still pee a little whenever he sees the number 58.

Florio names Washington Redskins LB London Fletcher as the winner.

Fletcher wasn't the best linebacker of the year but did make his first Pro Bowl and was a finalist for the NFL's Walter Payton Man of the Year award (won by Chiefs G Brian Waters).

Thomas was the 1993 Man of the Year winner.

(H/T WTexKC for the first FanShot)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Arrowhead Pride Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Kansas City Chiefs news from Arrowhead Pride