clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kansas City Chiefs Ed Block Courage Award Recipient Is Dustin Colquitt

The Kansas City Chiefs have selected punter Dustin Colquitt as their Ed Block Courage Award recipient, according to the organization's website. Players for each team vote on the recipient of the award for their team.

Here's a little bit about the award:

Each year, the Ed Block Courage Awards honors those National Football League players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. Recipients are selected by their teammates for team effort, as well as individual performance.

The Ed Block Courage Award recipient symbolizes professionalism, great strength and dedication. He is also a community role model. With this honor, he enters into an association which contrasts his fierce profession by becoming a major component of the Courage House National Support Network for Kids. He becomes an Ambassador of Courage for victims of abuse, violence and neglect.

This isn't a very well known award (well, it wasn't until Michael Vick won it last year) but it's voted on by your teammates so I think it's pretty cool.

Last year's winner was Brodie Croyle. The five before that were: Damon Huard, Eddie Kennison, Benny Sapp, Will Shields and Priest Holmes.

Arrowhead Pride Premier

Sign up now for a 7-day free trial of Arrowhead Pride Premier, with exclusive updates from Pete Sweeney on the ground at Arrowhead, instant reactions after each game, and in-depth Chiefs analysis from film expert Jon Ledyard.