clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chiefs Depth Chart Released: Bowe, Tank on the First Team

The Kansas City Chiefs have released their newest depth chart for the regular season opener at the Baltimore Ravens.

There were a few changes with the additions and subtractions made in the last week.  Here are the changes:


Wide Receiver: Dwayne Bowe, Terrance Copper

Finally!  Dwayne Bowe's "demotion" is over.  Chiefs fans, and fans of good players across the league, were shocked when Todd Haley sent him down to the third string with the first release of the depth chart over a month ago.

The fact that he's on the first string for the real games doesn't surprise anyone, nor should it.  Bowe is far and away the best receiver on the team.

Left Tackle: Branden Albert, Ikechuku Ndukwe

Herb Taylor was previously backing up Albert, who's firmly entrenched as the No. 1 left tackle, but he was released over the weekend.  Ndukwe will be serving double duty as the No. 2 on the left and the No. 1 on the right side.

Left Guard: Brian Waters, Wade Smith

No changes

Center: Rudy Niswanger, Wade Smith

Again not much of a surprise.  Andy Alleman was previously listed as the backup center but has been seeing all his time at guard.

Right Guard: Mike Goff, Andy Alleman

Things are starting to make a little more sense.  Alleman was listed at center but had only seen time at guard.  Hopefully Alleman gives Goff a run for his money.

Right Tackle: Ikechuku Ndukwe, Ryan O'Callaghan

One of the most interesting battles of camp.  Both of these players weren't on the roster three weeks ago so this position is certainly up for grabs.

Tight End: Sean Ryan, Brad Cottam, Jake O'Connell

No changes.

Wide Receiver: Mark Bradley, Bobby Engram, Quinten Lawrence

No changes.

Quarterback: Matt Cassel, Brodie Croyle, Tyler Thigpen, Matt Gutierrez

No changes.

Fullback: Mike Cox

No changes

Running Back: Larry Johnson, Jackie Battle, Jamaal Charles, Dantrell Savage

No changes




Left Defensive End: Tyson Jackson, Wallace Gilberry

Gilberry moved over from the right side following the departure of Alfonso Boone.

Nose Tackle: Tank Tyler, Ron Edwards

Tank Tyler takes the No. 1 spot.  They have rotated throughout camp.

Right Defensive End: Glenn Dorsey, Wallace Gilberry, Alex Magee

No changes

Left Outside Linebacker: Mike Vrabel, Andy Studebaker

No changes

Left Inside Linebacker: Demorrio Williams, Monty Beisel, Derrick Johnson

No changes

Right Inside Linebacker: Corey Mays, Jovan Belcher

No changes

Right Outside Linebacker: Tamba Hali, Turk McBride, Pierre Walters

No changes

Left Cornerback: Brandon Flowers, Donald Washington, Maurice Leggett

Washington moves ahead of Leggett, which is more appropriate considering Washington played well last week and Leggett is a nickelback.

Right Cornerback: Brandon Carr, Ricardo Colclough

No changes

Strong Safety: Mike Brown, DaJuan Morgan

No changes

Free Safety: Jon McGraw, Jarrad Page

No Changes


SPECIAL TEAMS (No changes)


Punter: Dustin Colquitt

Kicker: Ryan Succop

Kickoffs: Ryan Succop

Holder: Dustin Colquitt, Tyler Thigpen

Punt Returner: Dantrell Savage, Quinten Lawrence, Maurice Leggett

Kick Returner: Jamaal Charles, Dantrell Savage, Quinten Lawrence

J. Page D. Morgan
J. McGraw M. Brown
Free Safety Strong Safety
P. Walters
T. McBride D.Johnson A. Studebaker
T. Hali M. Beisel J. Belcher M. Vrabel
OLB D. Williams
C. Mays OLB
M. Leggett
R. Colclough A. Magee R. Edwards
W. Gilberry D. Washington
B. Carr G. Dorsey T. Tyler
T. Jackson
B. Flowers
Cornerback Def. End Nose Tackle Def. End Cornerback
Wide Receiver Tackle Guard Center Guard Tackle Tight End Wide Receiver
M. Bradley B. Albert B. Waters R. Niswanger M. Goff I. Ndukwe S. Ryan D. Bowe
B. Engram I. Ndukwe W. Smith W. Smith
A. Alleman
R. O'Callaghan B. Cottam T. Copper
Q. Lawrence J. O'Connell
Slot Receiver
B. Engram Quarterback
Q. Lawrence Fullback M. Cassel Tailback
M. Cox B. Croyle
L. Johnson
T. Thigpen
J. Battle
M. Gutierrez
J. Charles KR/PR Punter
Long Snapper Kicker D. Savage Q. Lawrence D. Colquitt
T. Gafford
R. Succop
D. Savage

NEW: Join Arrowhead Pride Premier

If you love Arrowhead Pride, you won’t want to miss Pete Sweeney in your inbox each week as he delivers deep analysis and insights on the Chiefs' path to the Super Bowl.