clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Marty's In The House

G258258a42315e6024df405efb406b596272178c44f2e5e_mediumA few weeks ago, the Kansas City Chiefs had a celebration of sorts for the AFL's 50th Anniversary and remembering the organization's lone Super Bowl 40 years earlier.  All sorts of local celebrities and former players made the event a star-studded event.

(Photo Source)

While today's events won't be as star-studded, they'll certainly be special.

In honor of Derrick Thomas having his No. 58 jersey retired, an array of former Chiefs stars will be in the house.

Per Mr. Gretz, the following folks are expected to attend, including former head coach Marty Schottenheimer:

DT Dan Saleaumua, DE Neil Smith, CB Kevin Ross, S Martin Bayless and LB Tracy Simien among others.

This is the time DT would have received his Hall of Fame ring but the Hall only gives rings to living members.

DT joins an illustrious list of Chiefs players to have their jerseys retired:

Jan Stenerud 3, Len Dawson 16, Emmitt Thomas 18, Abner Haynes 38, Stone Johnson 33, Mack Lee Hill 36, Willie Lanier 63, Bobby Bell 78 and Buck Buchanan 86. Also, no one has worn the No. 37 since Joe Delaney passed away in 1983, although it is not officially retired.

If you were wondering how important this day is for Marty, then think about DT's Hall of Fame enshrinement when TV cameras showed a very emotional Marty.

NEW: Join Arrowhead Pride Premier

If you love Arrowhead Pride, you won’t want to miss Pete Sweeney in your inbox each week as he delivers deep analysis and insights on the Chiefs' path to the Super Bowl.