clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chiefs Players Vote Brodie Croyle as Ed Block Courage Award Winner

Every December, the players from all 32 NFL teams vote one player for their team the recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award. The Chiefs have yet to formally announce their winner (and I'm not sure if they will) but according to the Ed Block website it is....

Brodie Croyle.

Here's what the organization says about the award:

Each year, the Ed Block Courage Awards honors those National Football League players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. Recipients are selected by their teammates for team effort, as well as individual performance.

The Ed Block Courage Award recipient symbolizes professionalism, great strength and dedication.  He is also a community role model.  With this honor, he enters into an association which contrasts his fierce profession by becoming a major component of the Courage House National Support Network for Kids. He becomes an Ambassador of Courage for victims of abuse, violence and neglect.

Croyle spent the offseason recovering from a knee injury that prematurely ended his 2008 season. He's also been the backup to the Chiefs prized possession of the 2009 offseason.

Remember, this is voted on by his teammates so I think that adds a little something for Croyle.

The previous five winners of the award were Damon HuardEddie KennisonBenny Sapp, Will Shields and Priest Holmes.

NEW: Join Arrowhead Pride Premier

If you love Arrowhead Pride, you won’t want to miss Pete Sweeney in your inbox each week as he delivers deep analysis and insights on the Chiefs' path to the Super Bowl.