clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

RB Kolby Smith Lands on the Chiefs Third Team

The Kansas City Chiefs have released their first RB depth chart of the post-Larry Johnson era.  Here's how they line up:

1. Jamaal Charles

2. Dantrell Savage

3. Kolby Smith

I've said before that I expect Smith to be the closest thing there is to a replacement for LJ.  He's the only running back that has, on more than one occasion, run the ball more than 10 times in a game in a NFL game.

More depth chart changes after the jump (including RG).

Andy Alleman joins the first team

In what a few of us would call a welcome change, C/G Andy Alleman moves to the first team at right guard.  This spot was previously held by Mike Goff, who battled an injury last week.

Minor offensive line shuffling

Ikechuku Ndukwe is no longer listed as the backup left tackle.  That's taken by Wade Smith, who now backs up three positions on the line.

Chambers still behind Wade

Despite being inactive on Sunday, Bobby Wade remains the starting receiver opposite Dwayne Bowe.  Chambers is backing him up.

Quinten Lawrence was moved to the practice squad so Lance Long takes his spot behind Bowe.

Morgan is the No. 1 free safety, for now

DaJuan Morgan is listed as the No. 1 free safety but for the injured Jon McGraw

Maurice Leggett moves into the strong safety role behind Mike Brown.

Savage returning punts

Good for Mr. Savage.  He's now the No. 1 punt returner ahead of Wade.