TE Tony Gonzalez Voted Derrick Thomas Award Winner, CB Maurice Leggett Wins Mack Lee Hill Award

As a tribute to the late Derrick Thomas, the Chiefs annual Most Valuable Player Award was renamed in his honor following his death in February of 2000. The Mack Lee Hill Award is presented each year to the Chiefs rookie or first-year player who best exemplifies the spirit of the late Mack Lee Hill, who passed away during his second season with the Chiefs in ‘65.