NFL Roster Cuts: Kansas City Chiefs Latest Depth Chart

The Kansas City Chiefs released seven players on Friday evening. Though they were all backups, there are still some things we can take out of this.

Here are a few things I think these roster moves could mean:

  • Releasing Ikechuku Ndukwe, not eligible for the practice squad, may mean that Darryl Harris is healthy to play in 2010. Releasing Ndukwe and Santucci means there are only three guards on the roster other than Harris.
  • Leroy Banks release probably means Jake O'Connell is safe. He was definitely on the roster bubble but came on strong in recent weeks. I see the Chiefs keeping three tight ends.
  • Mike Richardson's release means there is a special teams spot available. He played basically all special teams later year.

The Chiefs full depth chart is listed after the jump.


WR: Chris Chambers, Jerheme Urban, Quinten Lawrence, Jeremy Horne, Verran Tucker

LT: Branden Albert

LG: Brian Waters, Ikechuku Ndukwe, Darryl Harris

This release, to me, would mean that Harris' injury isn't that serious. It's speculation at this point.

C: Rudy Niswanger, Casey Wiegmann, Lemuel Jeanpierre

This doesn't change much. The real battle here is Niswanger and Weigmann (or both).

RG: Ryan Lilja, Jon Asamoah, Dan Santucci

Again, not much of a change in anything here.

RT: Barry Richardson, Colin Brown, Bobby Greenwood, Ryan O'Callaghan

TE: Leonard Pope, Tony Moeaki, Jake O'Connell, Leroy Banks

Good news for Jake O'Connell. It's very possible he makes the roster now.

WR: Dwayne Bowe, Dexter McCluster, Terrance Copper, Rich Gunnell

This doesn't change anything other than supporting Copper was a special teamer in 2010.

QB: Matt Cassel, Brodie Croyle, Tyler Palko

FB: Tim Castille, Mike Cox

RB: Thomas Jones, Jamaal Charles, Jackie Battle, Javarris Williams


LDE: Tyson Jackson, Shaun Smith, Alex Magee

NT: Ron Edwards, Derek Lokey, Garrett Brown

RDE: Glenn Dorsey, Wallace Gilberry, Dion Gales

LOLB: Mike Vrabel, Andy Studebaker, John Russell

No surprise here.

LILB: Corey Mays, Jovan Belcher, Justin Cole

RILB: Demorrio Williams, Derrick Johnson, David Herron, Cory Greenwood

ROLB: Tamba Hali, Pierre Walters, Cameron Sheffield

LCB: Brandon Flowers, Mike Richardson, Jackie Bates, Maurice Leggett

Richardson's release is somewhat of a surprise. He was a special teamer in 2009. Looks like that spot is now open.

RCB: Brandon Carr, Javier Arenas, Travis Daniels, Ricky Price

SS: Eric Berry, Reshard Langford, DaJaun Morgan

FS: Jon McGraw, Kendrick Lewis, Donald Washington


P: Dustin Colquitt, Ryan Succop

K: Ryan Succop, Dustin Colquitt

KO: Ryan Succop, Dustin Colquitt

PC: Thomas Gafford, Cory Greenwood

KC: Thomas Gafford, Cory Greenwood

H: Dustin Colquitt, Tyler Palko

PR: Javier Arenas, Dexter McCluster, Quinten Lawrence

KR: Javier Arenas, Dexter McCluster, Quinten Lawrence

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Arrowhead Pride

You must be a member of Arrowhead Pride to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Arrowhead Pride. You should read them.

Join Arrowhead Pride

You must be a member of Arrowhead Pride to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Arrowhead Pride. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.